On Sunday, July 14, 2019, the 31st Galway Film Fleadh came to a close after another outstanding year of Irish and international film premieres, screenings, workshops, and discussions. 

The festival’s annual awards ceremony took place before the screening of the closing film Never Grow Old.  

The winners are as follows;

Best International First Feature

The Best of Dorien B 

Director: Anke Blonde

Producer: Dries Phylpo, Jean Claude Van Rijckeghem, Marien Slot

Best International Documentary


Director: Abbie Ainsworth

Producer: Jamie Kastner & Lindsey Kutner

Best International Film

A Bread Factory

Director: Patrick Wang

Produced: Daryl Freimark, Matt Miller, Patrick Wang

Best International Short Documentary

After the Silence

Directed & Produced by Sonam Larcin

Best International Short Animation


Directed & Produced by Leszek Mozga 


Best International Short Fiction


Director: Joobeur Meryam

Producer: Maria Gracia Turgeon & Habib Attia

Best Human Rights Film in association with Amnesty International

For Sama

Director: Waad al-Kateab & Edward Watts

Producer: Waas Al-Kateab

Don Quijote Award for Best Animated Short Film


Director: Kayleigh Gibbons

ProducerRichard Gordon

The FICC jury awarded the Don Quijote prize to Featherweight for its touching storytelling style and expressive animation dealing with the universal theme of grief. 

Best Animated Sequence in A Short Film in Association with Brown Bag Films

Abe’s Story

Director: Adam H Stewart

Producer: Eilish Kent

The Donal Gilligan Award for Best Cinematography in a Short Film in association with Irish Society of Cinematographers

Rip to the Rescue! 

Director: Paudie Baggott

Producer: Sarah Barr
The Best Short Documentary Award in association with Gresan na Mean Skillnet Training 


Director: Ross McClean

Producer: Noe MendelleFlore Cosquer, Christine Morrow & Chris Kelly

The Best First Short Drama in association with Mazars


Director: Jack Reynor

Producer: Laura Hickey & Emer O’Shea

The Best First Short Animation Award

Archie’s Bat

Directed & Produced by Shannon Egan 

The James Horgan Award for Best Animation

Streets of Fury

Directed & Produced by Aidan McAteer

The Tiernan McBride Award for Best Short Drama in association with Network Ireland Television


Director: Jack Hickey

Producer: Laura Hickey

Best Cinematography in an Irish Feature in association with Teach Solais


Director Of Photography: Cathal Watters 

Pitching Award in association with 101 Films

What Would Rocky Do?

Pitcher: Roisin Jones

Best Marketplace Project Award in association with Bankside Films

Watermelon Seeds

Project Owner: Kate Swan (Bonnie Film)

Best Irish Documentary

Breaking Out

Director: Michael McCormack

Producer: Aideen O’Sullivan & Michael McCormack

Best Irish First Feature in Association with Saffrey Champness

A Bump Along The Way

Director: Shelly Love

Producer:  Louise Gallagher

The Bingham Ray New Talent Award in Association With Magnolia Pictures

The nominees are:

  • Mike Ahern Extra Ordinary
  • Enda Loughman Extra Ordinary
  • Lola Petticrew A Bump Along The Way
  • Lauryn Canny Darlin’

Tristan Heanue Ciúnas (Silence)

Winner Lola Petticrew (A Bump Along The Way)

The Galway Hooker Award for Outstanding Achievement

The recipients are

  • James Schmaus
  • Ros Hubbard

Jon Hubbard 

Best Irish Film in Association with Danu Media

Extra Ordinary

Director: Mike Ahern & Enda Loughman

Producer:  Katie Holly, Ailish Bracken