The 9th annual Irish Fashion Innovation Awards, hosted by Goldenegg Productions, presented a spectacular showcase from Ireland’s most promising designers last night at The Galmont Hotel & Spa in Galway (formerly Radisson Blu).
With over 500 people in attendance, these awards continually aspire to showcase the most cutting-edge designers to an incredibly fashion conscious audience and are recognised as a launching pad for Ireland’s most talented fashion creatives.

This year, a shortlist of 43 aspiring designers, including 21 students from fashion colleges throughout the country, showcased their innovative creations with well-deserved winners crowned in the following categories:

  • Student Designer of the Year 2018 – Niamh Flynn, NCAD
  • Accessory Designer of the Year 2018 – Niamh Daniels
  • Jewellery Designer of the Year 2018 – Helena Malone
  • Millinery Designer of the Year 2018 – Leonora Ferguson
  • Fashion Designer of the Year 2018 – Sarah Murphy
  • Innovation Award Winner 2018 – Sarah Murphy

The judging panel was made up of Eddie Shanahan, Producer and Creative Director of The Irish Fashion Innovation Awards; Carolyn Moore, Freelance Writer, Editor and Stylist; and Patricia McCrossan, Managing Director of Goldenegg Productions and GALWAYnow Magazine.

Award-winning Irish Designer Laura Jayne Halton was in town to judge the Best Dressed Competition on the night. Laura Jayne recently dressed 2018 Oscar nominee, Nora Twomey at this year’s Academy Awards in Los Angeles. Special guest designers and former IFIA winners Deirdre Duffy of Wild Cocoon and Katie O’Riordan of Theo & George also showcased their stunning collections. Attendees on the evening included Joanne Larby aka The Make Up Fairy; Marian Duggan, fashion writer at The Western People; GaeilgeleGlam, style blogger; Shona Leneghan aka Shostyle; style blogger Amie Brennan aka Floralesque; style blogger and RTE Today fashion contributor, Sinead De Butleir; style blogger, Emma Murray aka The Fashion Chair; personal stylist Orla Sheridan, TG4 presenter, Linda NiGhriofa; TV3 presenter and SEAT ambassador Anna Daly, and beauty blogger/MUA Hayley Coleman.

Previous winners include Carla Johnson, Natalie B. Coleman, Una Burke, Niamh O’Neill, Martha Lynn, Blaithin Ennis, Deirdre Duffy and Rebecca Marsden.

Goldenegg Productions Ltd would like to extend a huge thank you to designers, sponsors, guests, backstage support, production and judges for a fantastic evening of innovative Irish design,

The Goldenegg Irish Fashion Innovation Awards are unique to Ireland. They are seen as providing a rite of passage for many of our top designers as they make their way up the rungs of the fashion ladder. This competition is a wonderful opportunity to emphasise our ethos of encouraging up and coming talent,” said Patricia McCrossan, Managing Director of Goldenegg Productions.

Keep an eye on the Irish Fashion Innovation Awards Facebook page for more social pictures to come: IFIA FACEBOOK






You May Also Like

Real Weddings: Sinead & James

Sinead McMahon & James Gallagher were married in Christ the King Church, Ballycorick, Co. Clare followed by ...